[CW: Cyberstalking, harassment, Nice Guy™] Hockey Twitter has a Male Privilege Problem

Here’s the thing, Hockey Twitter men. Listen up and listen carefully. I know that’s hard for you – go ahead and call me patronizing, because that’s exactly what I’m doing.

i really don't care dl

I use the term “Be Better” a lot, and I send it directly at you. You say you are our allies, that you support women, that you care. And then you pick and choose which target to direct your ire – which feminist you want to cut down next.  You try to silence the women who are sick of your shit and your “sometimes we’re there for you” schtick.

You call yourselves a nice guy, a good guy. Guess what – you’re not. You are scum. Period. End of thought. If you want to be “good”, for whatever quantification, you would be treating women as equals. You wouldn’t be harassing and outright degrading them. You would speak up when your so-called friends did these. Your silence condemns you.

The fact of the matter is, we as women HAVE to screencap evidence. Otherwise people – including the police – don’t believe us when we talk about feeling threatened. FYI – there are actual cyberstalking laws to try to protect us from your shit.

We could go through the multiple times in recent months where you have belittled and attacked women for daring to have an opinion. For daring to use their voices. For daring to exist. But why should I bother? We were both there, we both saw it happening. You know it, I know it, and the internet is forever. I’d invite you to check your privilege, but I have a feeling you don’t know what I mean. So here, let me explain. You, as men, are given the privilege (mostly from other men), to have your opinions. To have your voice. With little consequence. And before you start yelling at me about the right to free speech, I’m going to tell you that sure, you have your rights. So. Do. I. The exact words of the first amendment are below:

The First Amendment (Amendment I) to the United States Constitution prohibits the making of any law respecting an establishment of religion, impeding the free exercise of religion, abridging the freedom of speech, infringing on the freedom of the press, interfering with the right to peaceably assemble or prohibiting the petitioning for a governmental redress of grievances. [Wiki]

Nowhere in there does it say that it gives you the right to harass, mock, and degrade women. It doesn’t give you the right to bully them. Or to derail their legitimate arguments. You want inclusiveness, but only on your terms, and only with certain types of women. Fuck that noise.

And before you go saying “Not All Men”. Sure, I’ll give you that. Not all the men of hockey twitter treat women this way. But perhaps, if those “Not All Men” are offended by this post, they should take a good hard look at themselves and figure out why. Because if any of this offends them? That’s a problem.

I have a voice and I’m going to use it. I refuse to toe the lines that YOU draw.blow kisses pitch perfect

