Have a Little Empathy

Yesterday I had trouble putting the words together to express exactly why I was so mad. Being patronized certainly didn’t calm me down. Yes, I came in “guns out” (your words, not mine). In hindsight, I probably could have expressed that you were being insensitive, that you were using a gimmick that you typically use for humor – therefore I relate that gimmick to humor. Whether or not you realized it (and yes, I am well aware that you did not) you were making light of the subject. You can deny it all you want, but the way that  you approached women being harassed by men on Twitter was not the correct way to do it.

“Was my tweet meant to be sympathetic? No it was not,…”

That right there is the problem. If you’re not having sympathy (or empathy) for the women in this situation, then you are part of the problem.

Yes, I am “drawing a line in the sand.” Someone has to.

 

You can view the full post quoted here, including an image of the Twitter conversation.

Leave a comment