Women Hockey Fans: Michele

Meet Michele (@mishey22)!

1978846_10152270537723094_477939739_n

How Did You Get Into Hockey?
I was taken to a game where the Lightning tied it with about five seconds left in regulation after pulling the goalie and went on to win in OT. I was hooked.

What is your favorite/least favorite part about the sport?
The general atmosphere, along with the speed and the athleticism  that goes into it for the players. I could do without the horrific injuries.

Do you follow any other sports?
I follow both baseball (MLB) and football (NFL).

Are you strictly an NHL fan or do you follow other leagues?
I pretty much follow them all because I track the Lightning prospects (and former prospects, which leads to me following all sorts of leagues. NHL, AHL, ECHL, OHL, QMJHL, WHL, DEL, DEL2, KHL… you get the point.

What is/are your favorite team(s)?
The Tampa Bay Lightning and the Edmonton Oilers

Do you have a favorite player?
I really don’t have one anymore because he retired. It was Rod Brind’Amour, because he was so dedicated to the craft. A real heart and soul guy.

Do you follow/use/analyze with advanced stats?
I look at them sometimes, but I don’t really look too into them, because I can see what’s happening myself.

Do you have a favorite hockey memory?
June 7, 2004, when the Lightning won the Stanley Cup

2004_Stanley_Cup_Champions_photo

If you could change one thing about how NHL hockey is played, what would it be?
The trapezoid. The stupid Marty Brodeur rule. That, or delay of game.

How has your presence been welcomed (or not) by men- either on social media or at games/bars?
A lot of the time I get things like “Oh, I didn’t know that you’re a girl, you’re so knowledgeable” which is apparently supposed to be a compliment, but I’ve only  had the occasional flat out dismissal because of  being a gal.

How has your presence been welcomed (or not) by women- either on social media or at games/bars?
I haven’t really had any problems personally, but I know of some girls that have had to put up with ‘why are you wearing that’ and the like. 

If you interact with other hockey fans on social media, what are your favorite and least favorite parts?
I like the camaraderie that can from from it, but I dislike that sometimes people feel the need to be ‘fan police’ to others.

Is there anything else you want to share on your thoughts on hockey?
Hockey, to me, is a unique sport, because it takes little bits and pieces from all the other sports and hones them into something completely different. Do you want speed? Hockey. A real team element? Hockey. A player putting the game on his back? Hockey. Strength of character? Hockey. Crowd interaction? Hockey. The list could go on and on. It’s an amazing sport and I’m so glad that I found it and the resulting friendships that I’ve acquired because of it.
One thought on “Women Hockey Fans: Michele

Leave a Reply

