Canucks Roll Through Bridgestone

Welp. That escalated quickly.

Preds Fan Bestie:
So I think we should bet on this game
Canucks Fan Me:
Ohhh? Yes.
I’m not disclosing the details of the bet, because frankly, those are none of your business. However I will say that after the second Kesler goal, there was a “Damn it, Kes”. And let me remind you, bestie is a distant cousin of the man in question. So yay Canucks!
There’s a lot of controversy over a particular call. The Sporting News has a pretty good .gif of it. Goalie interference/roughing were the calls against Hornqvist. I would agree one of those was not deserved, however it’s probably not the one you think. If you push another player into the goalie, technically that’s goalie interference, yes? Here. Let’s refer to the official rules:
Rule 69 – Interference on the Goalkeeper 
If a defending player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by an attacking player so as to cause the defending player to come into contact with his own goalkeeper, such contact shall be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, and if necessary a penalty assessed to the attacking player and if a goal is scored it would be disallowed.
So um. That seems pretty clear to me. Did Lu sell it that he was interfered with? Absolutely. However, Hamhuis was pushed into Lu and if Hornqvist had scored on that play… You see where I’m going with this. We would be feeling entirely differently if a goal had been allowed where it shouldn’t have been. (Though the Preds fans would probably still continue to throw tizzies. Seriously, I’m about to throw things at some people.) The roughing penalties… There was a bit of a scrum directly after. Was the second penalty to Hornqvist deserved? Probably not. Was the penalty to Hamhuis deserved? Absolutely. So that’s my two cents on it.
And that’s enough of that. Let’s talk about the actual game. Down Burrows, I was a little worried about the juggling of lines for the Canucks. No need, as Kesler went into beast mode (ahem, called it). They played the game basically how I thought they were capable of. But I actually want to focus on the Preds.
Their scoring woes continue. Amazing chances, with no finish. The Wilson goal from Hornqvist and Josi… we need to see more of that. Lots more of that, my fantasy team stats thank you in advance boys. Also, goals from other people. That would be good. Borque. Score, honey.
Baby Mazanec continues to impress me. A Rinne/Mazanec duo over the next couple of years, please and thank you. (Also, please Rinne, get better soon!!)
The Preds have some time left to pull it together. I have to remember they were down both Weber and Klein tonight, which hurt. It would have been an entirely different game, obviously. I’m off to go collect my winnings from the bestie. You want more of a recap, go check out CanucksArmy.
Leave a Reply

