Free Agency Day 2 (AKA, Derek Roy, why’d you gotta go and break my heart?)

It was a fairly quiet day for Free Agency. The Canucks gained former Florida Panther Mike Santorelli. For those unaware of who he was (like I was!), his best career numbers came when he was alongside David Booth. Here’s hoping the Canucks reunite the pair and magic happens.

We lost Andrew Gordon to the Jets – heartbreak number one. I didn’t have any real attachment to the kid, except for his name (both Andrew and Gordon are family names for me). I wish him luck in the future.

HOWEVER. THEN. Derek Roy had to go and shatter me. They stole Lappy from us yesterday, and now Derek Roy goes to the St. Louis Blues… They’re gonna take MayRay, too, aren’t they? That’s going to be tomorrow’s news. A three-day attack on my heart, brought to you by the team that contains TJ Oshie. They’ll never be able to be disinfected.

Disclaimer: I’m sure Oshie is a perfectly nice guy. I just don’t like him. Sorry, dude.

I know, I know. I said just a few days ago that Derek Roy was no great loss to the Canucks. This is true. And I would have been fine if he had signed… Oh, just about anywhere else. (Including the Wild! Go be with Parise!) In fact, I was thrilled yesterday when rumor was that Roy and the Ducks were in negotiation. If you can’t be a Canuck, be something that rhymes with it, right?

I do wish him all the best – make some money, Roy. one-year, $4 million? I guess that works. But at the end of that year, please, please go somewhere that doesn’t make me want to cry? And take Lappy with you.

 

Unrelated: The stuff coming out about Seguin. If it’s true, that partying too hard is a problem with him, I hope he gets help. I hope Dallas is a good fit, and that he can find a positive role model there. But most of all, I don’t want to see him burn out. He’s a talented player and just a kid, really. No one deserves to go through an addiction.

Leave a Reply

