Free Agency (In which I cry over Mason Raymond & the Canucks in general)

1040RaymondFA

 

Mason Raymond. Derek Roy. Maxim Lapierre. What do these three have in common besides being on the Vancouver Canucks? All UFAs this year and all most likely not to be signed by Vancouver. Of the three, Lappy is most likely to be back, from what I’ve picked up around the web.

Of the three, the one I’ll miss the most is Mason Raymond. He was the player whose story intrigued me enough to start watching hockey and he quickly became my favorite. This past season he continued to endear himself to me and the RSH line (Raymond-Schroeder-Hansen) blew me out of the water. I think that given a little more time, the “speed” line would have been hard to contain by other teams.

My dream placement – should the Canucks not blow me out of the water and re-sign him after all – is Nashville. Can you imagine a healthy Colin Wilson and MayRay on a line? All my dreams coming true.

The acquisition of Derek Roy made me pause for all of about 30 seconds before his grin got to me. Shortly after that I became a fan of his skating style – so sue me, I saw the pretty smile and eyes first. I was fortunate enough to see his first goal as a Canuck against Nashville (in Nashville at my very first live hockey game) and may have screamed my lungs out while surrounded by Predators’ fans. Losing him will not only make the average height of the Canucks go back up (slightly offset by Jordan Schroeder – herein after known as The Brat for Reasons) but will decrease the amount of pretty on the team. Chris Higgins’ abs will have a lot to live up to. But on that, if the largest worry is who is going to provide devastating smiles during interviews… The Canucks are most likely doing the right thing in not re-signing him.

Lappy, however. It will piss me off if they do not do something about Lapierre. He gels with the team and more than that, I believe they need him to anchor the forth line. Come on, Canucks. You’ll give a contract to Tom Sestito, but not Maxim Lapierre? That makes no sense to me.

 

 

(Next time on Ash on Ice – Luongo #1/Schneider trade thoughts, Coach Swap: Rangers & Canucks opinion, & whatever other breaking news catches my attention.)

Leave a Reply

